塞浦路斯的经济实力——过去、现在与将来

在2013年的金融危机之后,如今的塞浦路斯不仅经济恢复状况良好,而且还在不断吸引海外人士的投资,正处于快速发展之中。

不论在何种情况下,通过历史往往都能够预测未来。在我们对塞浦路斯的经济发展历程浏览一番之后,便发现塞浦路斯近来的经济快速增长与复苏并不是一件令人意外的事。

回顾塞浦路斯的历史

在塞浦路斯迎来独立之前,几世纪以来这里都是被各国文明所征服的对象。在1489年至1571年,威尼斯人统治着塞浦路斯,之后从1571年至1878年,这里又被奥斯曼帝国据为己有。1878年之后,塞浦路斯受英国统治,成为了英国的殖民地。直到1960年,塞浦路斯共和国成立。

随着工业技术的演变、国内酒店业的发展建设,以及出口业的蓬勃发展,塞浦路斯的人口开始迅速增长,就业机会也与日俱增。但是,随后土耳其侵略了塞浦路斯,由此中断了繁荣的景象,塞浦路斯北部也被侵占,也塞浦路斯的经济遭到了严重破坏。

在近十多年以来,塞浦路斯的经济状况已经有了明显好转,国内财富与发展之繁荣都是十分可观的。作为一个总人口仅1200万的小型岛国,这里的经济规模也很小(当前的GDP仅约为200亿美元)。因此,只要拥有稍微积极的有利条件,都能够对塞浦路斯的整体经济带来强大的发展动力。由于该地区周边国家的政治动荡,人口与资本也不断涌入塞浦路斯,这也促进了塞浦路斯的经济发展。而自20世纪80年代起,塞浦路斯的经济也发展到了新的高度。

塞浦路斯的现代史

在2007年至2012年间,当其他欧洲国家经济不断衰退时,塞浦路斯却仍然具有较强的弹性,几乎不受任何负面影响。就经济增长而言,塞浦路斯基本能够领先其他的欧元区成员国。

然而,塞浦路斯却没有躲过金融危机。由于受到希腊主权债务危机的重创,2012年至2013年间,塞浦路斯经济受到了金融危机的严重影响。最后,塞浦路斯只得于2013年3月达成条款,接受了欧元集团、欧盟委员会、欧洲中央银行以及国际货币基金组织的100亿欧元的国际救助。不过仅仅三年之后,塞浦路斯在严格遵守紧缩措施、大力进行改革、推进私有化计划之后,2016年便提前退出了救助计划,动用的救助拨款不足30%。

塞浦路斯的发展状况打破了所有事先的预测,不仅成功阻止了经济的放缓,而且经济也迅速地得到了恢复,所需时间比大多数分析师的预期还少了一年。

塞浦路斯的现在与将来

2018年,塞浦路斯的经济增长率达到了惊人的4.2%,这一水平预计还会有提升。2019年,欧盟委员会的经济预测显示,塞浦路斯的国内生产总值同比增长率为3.8%,而英国为1.2%、法国为1.8%、德国为2.1%。

经济复苏的一大主要驱动因素,便是塞浦路斯投资入籍计划以及塞浦路斯永久居留许可。参与者在进行投资之后,不仅能够拥有前景良好的投资项目,同时还能够成功入籍塞浦路斯或获取居留许可,其家属也可以随其入籍。

塞浦路斯不断证明着其面对困难、战胜逆境的强大能力。当今的塞浦路斯与过去一样,这里气候温和,拥有重要的战略位置,是欧洲、中东及北非地区的重要枢纽,这些都被本国及国际投资者与企业家所深切认可。自塞浦路斯于2004年加入欧盟以来,塞浦路斯在良好的经济前景以及巨大的投资潜力之下,获得了优异的国际声誉

分享这个
04/03/2019

The Power of the Cyprus Economy – Past, Present & Future

After the financial crisis of 2013, Cyprus is now not only recovering well but also regarded as a rapidly developing country that is attracting serious foreign investors.

As in so many other instances, history is often a great help in forecasting the future – and a quick look at the modern history of the Cyprus economy could make its recent quick and impressive recovery less surprising.

Looking Back on the History of Cyprus

Before Cyprus gained independence, it was the object of various conquests for centuries. The Venetians ruled the island from 1489-1571, before the Ottomans called it their own from 1571 to 1878. It then entered the colonial era and was under British rule from 1878 until the establishment of the Republic of Cyprus in 1960.

Independence was followed the industrial evolution, the construction of hotels and various exports which all together triggered population growth and job creation. Yet this prosperity came to a sudden halt when Turkey invaded the island, the northern districts came under occupation and, in general, the economy was ruined.

The fact that the island could regain its economic health, wealth and prosperity in just over a decade is very telling. As a small island with a total population of around 1,2 million only, the size of the economy is also small – in absolute numbers (current GDP is around USD 20bn). As such, even moderate favourable conditions can have a powerful positive impact on the overall economy. Instability in other countries in the region led to an influx of people and capital, which boosted the economy and took it to new heights in the decades from the 1980s onwards.

Modern History of Cyprus

In the period from 2007 to 2012, when other European countries were in economic decline, Cyprus seemed resilient, almost immune to the recession that was spreading across the Euro zone. In terms of growth, it was for the most part ahead of its fellow member states.

However, the island was not spared. The financial crisis hit it, and hit it badly, in 2012-2013, to a great extent due to its exposure to the Greek sovereign debt crisis. Finally, there was no way out but to agree to the terms of a €10 billion international bailout by the Eurogroup, the European Commission, the European Central Bank and the International Monetary Fund in March 2013. However, only three years later in 2016, Cyprus was able to exit the bailout programme, ahead of schedule and without utilizing some 30% of the allocated funds, thanks to its strict adherence to austerity measures, reforms, and a number of privatization plans.

Defying all predictions, it was able to arrest the slowdown and return to growth a year earlier than most analysts expected. 

The Present and Future of Cyprus

In 2018, the Cyprus economy grew by an astounding 4,2%. This rate is expected to level in the coming years. For 2019, the European Commission’s economic forecast shows a 3,8% y-o-y GDP growth in Cyprus, compared with 1,2% in the UK, 1,8% in France and 2,1 in Germany.

A main driving factor of the economic recovery is from the Cyprus Investment Program and Cyprus Permanent Residency Permit – Providing sound investments to individuals who partake whilst granting citizenship or residency that can be extended to the investor’s family.

Once again Cyprus has proved its ability to face and overcome adversity. Today as in the past, local and international investors and entrepreneurs recognize the value of the island’s mild climate, strategic location and ability to serve as a bridge that connects Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Reinforced with its membership of the European Union since 2004, Cyprus has regained its reputation as a country with healthy economic prospects and a significant investment potential.

Share this
Date published: March 4, 2019